OBS Update – November 2014

I’ve been playing with many settings in OBS in an effort to maximize the quality of my live stream lately and wanted to share some aspects of the software I have changed that have worked well for me.

  • Encoding – I’ve gone back to a “10” quality balance because my upload is way beyond what I could use on Twitch anyways without a partnership (3500 upload is the max Twitch allows without partnership, and I have a steady 12mb up). I’ve also set my max bitrate to 3350 with 128 on the audio so the combined total does not exceed the 3500 (not sure if it matters but it is worth testing out). Finally, I’ve decided to tinker with my buffer size instead of leaving it the same as the max upload, and at the moment my buffer size is at 5000. This seems to have made a difference, especially when looking at text on my stream, though I will update with changes.
  • I’ve set my replay buffer length back to 15 minutes (900 seconds) after some tinkering, 10 minutes seemed too short with matches like Evolve and CoD:AW, while 20 too long. I would really prefer to be using Nvidia’s Shadowplay, but it still crashes for me at random times, not to mention the impact from OBS’ version is much lower.
  • For Video settings I tried my hand at 1080, though I think to make it work properly you really have to look at investing in either a capture card (which I don’t think I can make work with my 1440p monitor) or a second streaming PC, so 720p at 60 FPS is my choice of poison at the moment and it is working great. I also moved from Bilinear to Lanczos on the filter downscale, though I’m not sure how much of a difference it has made. On that note, the filter changes don’t seem to affect performance at this time.
  • The only other change I’ve made was in the hotkeys, switching to the function buttons above rather than the numpad to the right, this was just for personal preference reasons.

As always, thanks for reading, and stay tuned for more updates and info as OBS and my stream evolve.

Leave a Reply

