OBS Streaming Update

Since the 24 hour stream the other day I’ve been messing with my OBS settings to get the maximum performance and quality out of my stream with my current specs. I’ve discovered a couple of interesting pieces of information while I’ve been doing testing that I’d like to share.

First of all, unless you are running a ridiculous, and I mean a really fucking ridiculous PC like the Large Pixel Collider, you probably aren’t going to get a great 1080p stream without a second streaming PC. You might get a decent stream going at 30fps at this resolution but you would have to throw FPS’ out and other high intensity games that require a great deal of motion during gameplay. Hearthstone, for example, could probably be run fine at 1080p while Arma III would be a killer without a second PC.

Secondly, I think many people prefer 60fps to the 1080p for most games and are willing to deal with a 720p stream at 60fps rather than 1080p at 30 or lower. You can mess around with many settings to get a clean 720p/60fps but mine include an upload of 3500 with a buffer of 4500, bilinear downscale from 1440p to 720p and a “veryfast” preset. Still in the testing phase but I’ll have more to add later, thanks for reading!

Oh yes, one other issue I’ve seen while messing with the settings. On OBS, you want to avoid using monitor capture AT ALL TIMES. They provide this disclaimer when you select it as a source but after some testing it really messes with the stability of the stream and OBS itself. For example, I found that using monitor capture was causing my OBS to essentially crash every time after I tried to close the program. Like they mention in the program itself, try to use window capture if you must and avoid monitor cap at all times.

Leave a Reply

